6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2016 8:17 AM by Catherine Tulley

Newbie here...custom filled map from shapefile question

Catherine Tulley

Hi all,

I am a GIS person but new to Tableau. I recently attended two in-person training courses, so I'm kind of in the "advanced beginner" stage at the moment.

Okay, so I have a shapefile of municipal boundaries that I converted using ET GeoWizards' Polygon to Point tool.

In Tableau, I have the [ET IDR] and [Muni Name] fields in Detail, and [ET Order] as Path. I would like to map [$Value] according to [Muni Name].

I read some of the prior threads about using hierarchies in filled maps, but I'm not sure that's what I want to do. I could use a County>Municipality hierarchy if that would help; I have 500+ municipalities covering 10 counties.

If I drag [$Value] over to Color, it color-codes the whole region using the range for [$Value].

I would like for it to color-code each municipality by [$Value]. Is there some kind of work-around that I could use to do this, maybe a calculated field?

I am trying to build a dashboard that incorporates the map to both view and select data. So far, I've gotten it to work where the map can act as a filter if you click on a municipality, but I can't seem to get the map

to change color according to my desired filter, if that makes sense. I want to be able to toggle on Category 1, Category 2, Category 3, etc., and see the values for those categories change for each municipality within the region.

Any and all ideas are appreciated! Thanks in advance if you can help.

Cathy

• 1. Re: Newbie here...custom filled map from shapefile question
          Catherine Tulley