3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2016 10:20 AM by Ben Page

Trying to highlight values 40% different from an average, using only 3 colors (Desktop 9.2.2)

Jen Shepherd

Hello,

I'm new to Tableau and am working on a dashboard that includes vizes from three different data sources.  Each source contains several metrics (e.g., crime counts) for 400+ agencies, with agency name (a string var) consistent across all the data sources.  I want to look at the metrics by year in a heat map with the metric values as labels.  I  want to compare the most recent year (2015) to the average of the previous 4 years (the average is a column in my data files).  I also want to present this info on a dashboard while filtering the data to see all metrics for only 1 agency at a time.  I created a parameter to select agency name so that I could use it across all vizes on the final dashboard.

As an example, I want to show a yearly count of crimes and arrests for Agency A, and compare every year to the 4-year average for each crime and arrest type, highlighting with color any changes by year that are "significant" (operationalized  as < or > 40%).

I first used a quick table calculation (% difference from) on the crime and arrest variables  - computed using [Year], Relative To the 4-year average .  I set the color mark on the table calculation to the orange-white-blue diverging palette, then set it as reverse 3-stepped and set the end colors to be red (positive % difference) and blue (negative % difference), with white in the middle  (no change).  However, when I filtered by agency name on the final dashboard, there were  colors showing from the initial palette other than red, white, and blue for some of the agencies.  Specifically, when the overall %change range is lopsided, it brings in other colors that are midrange.   For example, an agency that has a range of -50 to +500 %change has color marks that are orange or light blue.