1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 15, 2016 6:48 AM by Toby Erkson

Basic question about managing and updating data sources in Tableau Online for a geographically dispersed, collaborative project

Casey Lott

Hello, I am new to Tableau Online, although I've been using Tableau Desktop for a little while. Please excuse my relative lack of knowledge coming in to this post. I need to learn quite a bit pretty quickly to get a new project off the ground. 

I have a project that will be my first implementation with Tableau Online that involves collaborators in different locations across the country. Each of these collaborators is working in a different office environment, for a different employer (some private, some public agency) with different data sharing policies. I am the only one on our team with Tableau Desktop, which I will be using to design dashboards to publish to Tableau Online for the team. This part makes pretty good sense to me from the documentation I've read and the tutorials I've watched.

However, I can't figure out how to get past what seems to me a very basic problem.

1) The main data tables we plan to use (and allow all collaborators to add data to update regularly with new data) have the following qualities:

a) They are excel spreadsheets.

b) They currently reside on different desktop computers of people in different offices who don't have Tableau Desktop licenses (only Tableau Online).

c) Administrators in these offices don't want data to be sent around regularly via email or stored in Dropbox as a central repository. This later point seems a little unreasonable to me, but I'm not an expert in data security, just a biologist/project manager trying to      manage a collaboration. 

This leaves me at a bit of a loss of how to do version control for this project. It seems like I should be able to do something like the following, but I can't seem to figure out the workflow/approach in Tableau: