5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2016 6:21 AM by Dan Sanchez

How to show a new row as a percentage of prior two rows

Collin Bath

Hi,

I have a text table with two rows in it. The first column is a dimension which I have called measure, (excuse the name if confusing in the context of Tableau). Following in the table are 8 different measures. What I want to do is show a third row which is the percentage of the two above rows. In other words new row = (std margin row / sales row) * 100

In the example above the new rows would equal 33.18 for column Q216 PRELIM and 33.06 for column Bill QTD. I appreciate that usually you would have separate actual measures for sales and std margin but in this case the format I have is driven from the data source. Visually it seems such a simple thing to do but I am fairly new to Tableau and cannot work out how to do this.

Any help would be much appreciated! I have included the packaged workbook.

Regards

Collin

• 1. Re: How to show a new row as a percentage of prior two rows
          Dan Sanchez

Hi Collin!

We've got a couple options available to us to get the percentage values.  I've attached a revised copy of your workbook with two solutions.  The first is to create a separate worksheet for the percentage value and then combine both worksheets on a dashboard.  For the table calculation we will need to set the Compute Using to [Measure].

The second option is to duplicate the [Measure] dimension and use a trick with the SIZE() function to force the percentage calculation into the Grand Total row.  This requires you to set the Compute Using setting for the calculations to use [Measure (copy)].  Both solutions require us to use the LOOKUP() function to calculate the values.

Another option would be to pivot the columns when you connect to the data.  This might make things easier down the road but it's not a requirement if you would prefer to keep the data in its current structure.