6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2016 2:24 PM by Mike Konopinski

"Stats for Space Usage" inconsistancy

Aaron Johnson

I am a server admin on several Tableau boxes, but I don't have direct access to the OS the server software is installed on. I have been following the instructions on the following pages to get the space that is being used by the tableau workbooks and extracts:

Administrative Views

Stats for Space Usage

That nice total in the upper right is my "go to". Or at least it was until I noticed that when I go to it after selecting "server" it gives me 8GB (for example). If I go back to is after selecting one of the sites on the server, the number can be bigger! (14GB for example). How can one site of many take more space than the entire server? What is this number REALLY telling me?

I know that I can affect these numbers as I can check them, remove a few data extracts, and then when I re-check them the number goes down.

What are these numbers really showing me?

Is there a better way to get the total space/size of all the workbooks and extracts that are on the server?

• 1. Re: "Stats for Space Usage" inconsistancy

Hi Aaron,

Sorry you're having this trouble. I took a look through the workbook, and the count looks like it's a fairly simple SUM of the workbooks.size and datasources.size columns in the repository DB. It only gets filtered by the filters on the dashboard which are simply WHERE clauses on the query (At least they were when I rebuilt the admin views for Tableau 8.0). If you're seeing X when completely unfiltered (all sites), and it goes UP to Y when you filter to a single site, that doesn't seem right at all.... should be impossible actually.

Would you mind sharing some screenshots? If you'd prefer not to post them here, feel free to PM me. I'm the Product Manager for the team that owns the admin views, so I can help you get this sorted.

Cheers!

• 2. Re: "Stats for Space Usage" inconsistancy
            Aaron Johnson