1 2 Previous Next 28 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2016 8:01 AM by Anthony Bour

Setting Date Period of 27 Date Increments

Anthony Bour

Hi,

I am new to Tableau and this in my first post - so apologies if this is posted in the wrong forum.

I am having trouble working out how to create or set my date field so it displays at 27 day increments.

Example:

Period 1:     05.Jan.16 - 01.Feb.16

Period 2:     02-Feb-16 - 29-Feb-16

Period 3:     01.Mar.16 - 28.Mar.16

Period 4:     01.Mar.16 - 28.Mar.16

etc...

I have searched the training guides but I cant find an answer.  I get the feeling this a pretty easy fix as this must be required by many companies, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Anthony

• 1. Re: Setting Date Period of 27 Date Increments
          Mark Fraser

I am new to Tableau and this in my first post - so apologies if this is posted in the wrong forum.

Hi Anthony

No problem, just moved it for you.

With regard to your question - This is quite possible in Tableau, its just how you want to do it.

You want a user to select a date, and then for the period to reflect the selected date + 27days?

or something else?

Your going to need either

DATEDIFF('day',[1st Date],[2nd Date])

or

DATEADD('day',27,[Date])

and maybe IF function.

If you could provide a little more detail, and ideally an example I can help you better.

Cheers

Mark

• 2. Re: Setting Date Period of 27 Date Increments
            Anthony Bour

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your reply,  I have a shipment departure date  I am trying to build a dashboard for my client, but they do not operate using calendar months – instead they want to see data based on 27 day periods.  The start date I want to use is 06.Jan.15 and I want to create a period for each 27 day segment.

I think somehow I need to group all dates which fall into each period, I did try using an IF formula but this doesn’t seem very practical as I would need to constantly add new date ranges as the months/years go by.