1 2 Previous Next 27 Replies Latest reply on Jan 12, 2016 12:25 AM by Brian Calvanese

Corporate P&L Allocations Using Tableau

Sam Foshay

I'm a financial analyst for a firm that is currently trying to migrate all of it's reporting and metrics for the P&L onto Tableau. As I'm new to Tableau I'm unaware of any advanced functionality regarding table calculations. I'm running into a specific problem around allocating corporate costs in my core data set, and was wondering if Tableau has a feature/capability to automatically "run" these allocations for me so i don't have to do this in my source data. Here is an overview of the situation:

• Data set: Raw general ledger extract from accounting systems and Raw forecasting data by GL Account
      • Data environment: Excel/ Access file with basic mapping and attribution features
      • Company Structure: multiple product specific cost centers with shared "corporate" cost centers that are allocated to the P&L's of the businesses
      • Allocation methodology: % of revenue type (services cost centers allocated on % of services revenue, Product cost centers allocated on % of product revenue etc.)

Problem statement: Can I have Tableau automatically calculate my % of revenue allocations for my corporate cost centers?

I'd prefer to do this in tableau vs. my Excel/Access file as this will avoid that file ballooning to a large state, and it will allow me to apply the same filters that I'm applying to my non allocated cost.

Thanks!
      SF

• 1. Re: Corporate P&L Allocations Using Tableau
          Brian Calvanese

Hi Sam -

Table calc's might help... can you mock up some data for us to play with?

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Corporate P&L Allocations Using Tableau
            Sam Foshay

Thanks for the quick response Brian- Attached is a very pared down extract of what i'm hoping to achieve.