6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2015 1:32 AM by Dannie Korsgaard

Beginner question: Wrong averages when working with joined normalized excel sheets

Dannie Korsgaard

Dear Tableau ninjas,

I apologize if this is a trivial question, but I have not been able to get my head around this issue even though I found what appears to be the solution here: Removing Duplicated Data after Joining Tables | Tableau Software . Unfortunately the example given is so simple that I had a hard time translating it to my scenario. So here is my problem - I will appreciate any advice - Im sure this will be easy to most of you.

I am analyzing data from food diaries. Before importing the data into Tableau I have tried to bring the data into (what I think you call) "normalized" mode (see attached tableau_example.xlsx). I have a "master table" ("person data"), which contains some basic info and ratings given by the owners of diaries. In the example attached to this question I have only included one rating called "SATISFACTION_WITH_FOOD_EXPERIENCE". If I import the table into Tableau (tableau_example.twb) and create a visualization (Sheet 1) showing the average of this rating it will correctly display 7.7.