4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2015 12:23 AM by Dan Huff

Drop down filters moving on screen

Sara Starkey

Hello- I am new to Tableau and have been creating pages on Tableau Desktop. I am then posting them on Tableau Public so I can link the pages to our company shared portal webpage so everyone can access the information. Things work great on the Desktop version but I have found that on the Public version when clicking on some of the filters, the drop down options move to the other side of the screen. This is not the case for all filters, just some. Any ideas how to stop this from happening? Thanks!

• 1. Re: Drop down filters moving on screen
          Dustin Wyers

Is it possible for you to attach screenshot of the movement?  Or even better, a twbx that we can see it in action ourselves?

Dustin Wyers

InterWorks

• 2. Re: Drop down filters moving on screen
            Lauren F.

I'm having this issue as well, actually. I would love to know how to fix it! I suspect this has something to do with the recent Tableau Public update (Version 9.1.1). I created a Tableau Story using version 9.1 and had viewed it on the the Tableau Public website a few times - it looked and worked fine. Later (a few days after the update came out - I haven't updated the version I have downloaded though), I was looking at the Story again on the website, but I noticed a few strange things.

1) When I clicked on the drop-down filters, they opened across the screen (as Sara describes). I also noticed that the little arrow on the filter (where you click) had moved from the side to the middle of the bar/filter there - this has now reverted back to the side without me doing anything.

2) I'd hidden a null value from a filter (so people wouldn't have the option to select it), but now it is appearing.

This is what it looks like in Tableau Public on my computer/desktop. (Note no "null value." The Department filter drops down right underneath where you see that filter).

funding_Tableau.PNG