5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2015 6:40 AM by Derrick Austin

Auto refresh twbx on Tableau server

Abhilash Singh

Hi All,

I am new at this. So sorry if this is a repeat. I tried searching but couldn't seem to find the exact method to do this.

I extract data from Oracle server, then process it in R and then write the final table as a csv file. This is a weekly process. I then link the twbx workbook with the new csv every week and keep the connection type as extract. The dashboard is refreshed and everything is OK.

I then tried to publish the workbook on server and selected auto refresh every 1 hour to see if it refreshes or not. That never happened! I even tried the 'refresh now' option but it said '1 extract refresh has been queued to run' but nothing happened again.

I searched a bit and I found few problems which might be happening but it didn't really helped my case.

For ex:

1. Saving it as twbx creates a extract in temp folder and won't refresh because the extract is static

2. The include external file option while publishing the dashboard is causing some problem. I tried both way to include and not to include and then publish but no luck.

3. To have the csv as a live connection, then save the file as twbx and then extract data, then publish. But same result.

4. Published a twb as well.. but no luck

What am I missing here. Can someone explain in lay man's term. All I want is when I link the desktop workbook with a new csv, the same should be reflected on the server.

• 1. Re: Auto refresh twbx on Tableau server
          Derrick Austin

Hello Abhilash,

In order to refresh the CSV, it will need to be stored on a network drive that Tableau Server (And the run as user) can access. You will want to point your TWBX to that location as well.

If it is already setup this way, you might check the "background tasks" page to see if there is an error occurring during your refresh.

Flat files can get a bit tricky sometimes, due to the networking issues.