1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2016 12:34 AM by Matt Coles

Example: Subscriptions conditional on a successful Extract Refresh

Matt Coles

lalitha p , this one is for you.

So, the original question was this:

I have a subscription which is going on smoothly for a report now. An Extract refresh is happening at 12 O'clock and after one hour at 1:00pm my subscription is running. (daily mails are recevied by users)

Now My concern is sometimes my report(extrcat) refresh is failing but my subscription is happening at 1 O'clock with the old data(with the last refresh data) .

But i dnt want this to happen. If my refresh fails my subscription should not go or my subscription should go with a messgae that "refresh fails for today, Report is with Previous refresh or data" .

Can we design our subscriptions like this with condition or atleast can i stop my subscription if my report refresh fails.

How To (UPDATED FOR VizAlerts v1.1.0):

Here are the steps you will need to follow to accomplish this for a daily subscription using VizAlerts:

1. Get started with the latest version of VizAlerts! Download the Zip, and follow the instructions in install_guide.docx. Test it as the guide instructs until you know it's working. (Strongly recommend you use a test Server instance for this, of course--not Production yet until you are comfortable)

2. Open the "SubscriptionWorkbook.twbx" workbook I attached to this post. You will need to adjust the Background Tasks connection for your own Tableau Server PostgreSQL repository. The sheet "Subscription" represents the subscription that you want to send. The extract it relies on is just a dummy spreadsheet. I let it refresh once successfully just so I had some data to show you in this example.

3. Connect to the VizAlerts datasource (either on Tableau Server, or just use the VizAlerts.tdsx file in the zip file--doesn't matter).

4. Select all all of the "Email" fields, use your mouse, right-click and pick "Copy".