1 2 3 Previous Next 43 Replies Latest reply on Nov 20, 2018 12:57 PM by Divya Chhabra

Grouping Bins on a Histogram

Ben Young

Hi everyone,

I was helping out a friend earlier this week and, in the process of helping him build the visualization he wanted, I was able to create a workaround for a problem I have run into before that I thought would be worth sharing. The problem this workaround solves is grouping bins on a histogram.

Tableau has the awesome capability to build bins and instantly create a histogram. However, it comes with a couple limitations. First, you cannot group the bins. As far as I understand it, and I may be completely off on this, the issue has to do with how Tableau creates the bins as a new Dimension; the bin itself almost acts as a the group rather than allowing a group functionality. (Side note: feel free to add comments and improve on this explanation of why grouping doesn't work. I am not a technical expert on the inner workings of Tableau). You can create sets, but the lack of being able to highlight and group has been a frustration where I work since it is so easy to do in other situations. A second limitation is that you cannot use the bins in calculations. Again, you can use sets, but if this can cause issues if you want to show one level of detail on those values in the set and one level on those values not in the set.

As a simple example, here is the histogram of Sales from the Sample - Superstore data set in Tableau 9.0, with bins sized at $100.Sales Histogram.jpg