7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 23, 2015 10:08 PM by Bora Beran

Average at different grain in Tableau

Sandesh Shridhar

Hey Guys-

I am a beginner in Tableau. I did search the forum but I don't think I got a same use case that I was trying to solve.

My underneath table is like this

Product--Department--City---City_Tier-- score

product1- dept1- NY- tier1 -- 75

product1- dept1- NJ- tier1 -- 82

product1- dept1-XYZ-tier1-80

product2- dept1- SEA- tier1 -- 70

product2- dept1- MN- tier1-- 64

I have two worksheets, one detailed view and the other is a summary view.

In detailed,

I am placing cities and city tiers in col shelf and product, department as rows. This all works fine. And my grand total average looks good.

But in Summary view

I just want to have score for  city tiers.  Though I don't have product  in my shelf  I want my score to be computed

a) First average at product across cities( product 1: (75+82+80)/3=79, same for product 2=67.5 )

b) And then average across products(total average to be (79+ 67.5)/2))

But Tableau currently is averaging across all  5 rows and yields different number. Hence my total numbers in detail would not match with summary view.

I tried going through table calculations, but challenge is since column I want to partition by(partition by in SQL world) does not exist in Shelf I found it very difficult.

Any help would be very very much appreciated

• 1. Re: Average at different grain in Tableau
          Bill Lyons

First, welcome to Tableau, and the Tableau Forums!

For future reference, you will be more likely to get good responses in the forums if you attach a sample workbook which illustrates your problem. I would encourage you to read Getting the Most From the Tableau Forums and view Anonymize your Tableau Package Data for Sharing for more information.

I used the information you provided to create my own workbook which is attached. In it, you will see that the average for product 2 is 67, not 67.5 as you state.