7 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2015 9:16 AM by Damian Eralio

Creating Calendar Reports

Nicholas Gadaleta

Hello everyone,

New to the forum, self taught in Tableau so I could use some help from you experts out there.  What I am trying to create is a calendar in excel that highlights certain dates.

Here is what I got:

- Started of with an excel file with just dates, manipulated those dates into figure 1, which simulates a calendar.

Figure 1.JPG

Goal: 

- Create a visual within this calendar to highlight dates that include and are between "start" and "end" dates.  I have an excel file with 2 columns that have a start and end date (among other information).

To give you guys an example....say I have a start date of January 1st and an end date of January 10th.  I would need a color change or a highlight within my simulated calendar for the days between (and including) the 1st-10th.  The 11th and dates after would be blank until we have another set of start and end dates. 

Any thoughts or tips you can provide would be really appreciated.  

Thanks,

Nick

• 1. Re: Creating Calendar Reports
          Damian Eralio

Without knowing what your start and end dates look like, I would create an IF statement that tests whether each date is both greater than or equal to start date and less than or equal to end date. Use that calculated field in the "colors" mark card.

example 1.png

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Creating Calendar Reports
            Nicholas Gadaleta

Thanks for the quick reply Damian, let me give that a try.

• 3. Re: Creating Calendar Reports
              Mark Fraser

Hi Nicholas

The advice that Damien has provided looks good.

You may be able to use TODAY() function depending on your data set/ time period.