Hey Toby. The comment only drives whether the alert is processed as a Simple Alert or an Advanced Alert. If you have subscribed to any view on one of the custom schedules, then it will appear in vizalerts.state. To get rid of it you need to unsubscribe from it.
Note: The need to add a comment to use the Advanced Alerts feature is no longer required.
Oingo-boingo, yup, that did it. Thanks Matt.