2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2015 8:16 AM by Benjamin Kuhn

Publishing updates to a workbook on Tableau Server

Benjamin Kuhn

Hi all,

I'm a site admin on an internal Tableau server that we are using to publish several workbooks and dashboards. The workbooks/dashboards are occasionally modified to add/remove views or make other minor changes. To reflect the changes on the server, I upload the modified workbook to the server, using the same filename as the existing workbook. When I upload an updated version of an existing workbook to the server, about half the time I get a popup window saying ‘This filename already exists, do you want to overwrite this file?’ (to which I answer 'yes', and everything is gravy). The other half of the time I get no popup, and when I go on the server there are two workbooks side-by-side with the same filename. At first I thought there was some whitespace somewhere, so the filenames weren’t exactly the same, but I don’t think this is the case. I usually delete the older workbook, leaving the updated one.

I thought this was a good enough solution until I started hearing from my users that their existing hyperlinks to the dashboards were no longer working. Upon investigation, I discovered that the updated workbooks had slightly different URLs than the older ones. It seems that Tableau is internally appending '_0' to the new workbooks to distinguish them from the existing ones with the same filename, but not displaying the '_0' to me.

So for example, I upload 'Workbook1' to the server. The URL to share the workbook is:

~/views/Workbook1?:embed=y&:display_count=no

which I share with my users.