5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 7, 2015 11:31 AM by Matt Gizbert

    View level permissions overridden upon publish

    jaimie.stark

      A couple of views within my workbook have restricted permissions which I configured by setting individual view-level permissions on Tableau Server. When I download the workbook from server, edit in desktop and publish to server my view-level permissions are overridden. I have to go back into server, click on individual views and edit permissions every time I re-publish.Is it possible to publish from desktop and retain the permissions that were assigned in Tableau server?

       

      I'm using Tableau 9.0 and actually did not have this issue with prior versions - upon downloading, editing and publishing in a prior version my view specific permissions were retained. I believe there was a little icon in the Tableau desktop permissions window indicating a view had custom permissions but I no longer see this in 9.0.

       

      Any info would be much appreciated. Thanks!