8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2015 6:59 PM by Donald Leung

Redshift and Tableau Online storage

Donald Leung

Hi, I am now studying about Tableau and I have questions on the product.

I am now design the architecture of the whole system, each year we will collect 3 TB of data.

We plan to put the 3TB/year data to Redshift in Amazon.

And I prefer Tableau online to Tableau server, as it saves me cost on buying and maintaining the hardware.

My question is, the Tableau online has a limit of 100GB storage, what does that actually mean?

As the data actually comes from Redshift, so theotically I am probably not using any of the 100GB storage at all? Is my understanding correct?

Also, how do you compare Redshift and Big Query from Google? Which one works better with Tableau at the moment?

And,  where datacenter should choose to place my Redshift server? Which one is closest to the Tableau online servers?

Lastly, what should I expect for the query performance in such system with 3TB of data? What is the mean wait time when i operate using the Tableau desktop?

Sorry for having so many questions at a time.

Thank you very much for your help.

• 1. Re: Redshift and Tableau Online storage
          Dustin Smith

Hi Donald,

Great questions!  Let me try and answer them in order:

the Tableau online has a limit of 100GB storage, what does that actually mean?

As the data actually comes from Redshift, so theotically I am probably not using any of the 100GB storage at all? Is my understanding correct?

Answer:  You are correct.  If you are storing your data in Amazon Redshift then you will be able to establish a live connection between Tableau Online and your Redshift deployment.  This means that no data is taken from Redshift and stored in your Tableau Online account.

Also, how do you compare Redshift and Big Query from Google? Which one works better with Tableau at the moment?