I have been looking into this today and have tested on 8.2.11 and this seems to be resolved (well the deleting users part at least). Previously I was trying this on 8.2.5.
Yes, true syncing is updated. If someone owns an object, say a workbook, then they won't be deleted but will be set to Unlicensed. When you give the object a new owner then the person can be truly deleted.
Yes, you can set the license level by using the --license command:
tabcmd syncgroup "AD_Group_Name" --license interactor --no-complete --timeout 1800
This isn't working for me. The documentation says that when a user is removed from an AD group then a group sync is ran, they will be removed from the group and put in the All Users group and set to Unlicensed. For me, they are getting removed from the group, but aren't getting Unlicensed. Any thoughts?
The user may be in other Groups. If that's the case I would expect them to keep their licensing.
Yea, that would make since. However, the user I am testing with in only in the one group.
do you have multiple sites? it is a bit confusing, what I have observed that if you look at the user at the site level, there is no indication of licensing. but if you look at the user up at the overall server level (need server admin to see this), then it shows they are unlicensed. have a look...
Only one site. Where do I see the server level vs the site level?
when you only have 1 site, then it's all one view.
I found there issue. The behavior changes based on what license you are using.
Here is the info:
When you remove a user from Active Directory then synchronize with that user's group on Tableau Server, the user is:
- Removed from the Tableau Server group you synchronized
- Placed in the All Users group in Tableau Server
- Unable to sign in to Tableau Server
Because the user still remains on the server, as the administrator, you can audit and reassign the user's content before removing their account completely. The user will not be able to sign in to the server. To fully remove the user from Tableau Server you need to do the following:
- Set the user's site role to Unlicensed (if you are using user-based licensing in Tableau Server).
- Delete the user from the Server Users page in Tableau Server, if you are a server administrator.
I have bolded and underlined the important part for my environment. I have a core based license and not a user based one. When I remove a user from an AD group they are removed from the group and their user role is unchanged.