4 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2015 3:28 PM by Russell Spangler

Tableau Server Question

Jocelyn Gibson

Greetings,

First of all, I'd like to thank the organizers of the Tableau session last night.  I got a lot out of it.  I'm new at Tableau, but it's a big part of my job.  I've self-taught for the last 3 months, so it was great perspective/learning. 

I'd love to see a session where attendees could bring in laptops and get feedback on current projects, or include that as an optional thing at the end of future sessions (just a suggestion).

I have a question about Tableau Server.  I currently use desktop and send out twbx files to clients.  We want to get Server largely so that clients can view dashboards on tablets, and we've got some secondary internal uses for it as well.

What would be ideal is if there is a manageable way to ensure privacy ie. a particular client can see their dashboards, but not those of another client.

I don't come from a tech background and admittedly some of the discussion last night was over my head.  Is this privacy maintenance easy to figure out?  How manageable would it be for someone who is relatively new?

Thanks,

Jocelyn

• 1. Re: Tableau Server Question
          Greg Lyons

Hi Jocelyn, there are various ways you can approach and permissions can be set upon publishing or within the server admin module, but the short answer is "yes" you can arrange these access permissions. You can learn more in the online Server admin guide, here is a page looking at permissions: http://onlinehelp.tableau.com/current/pro/online/mac/en-us/help.html#publish_workbooks_permissions_capabilities.html?Hig…

Normally a google search ("Tableau Server Permissions..." or whatever topic you're interested in) will produce just the results you're looking for - hope this helps.

Greg

• 2. Re: Tableau Server Question
            Russell Spangler