5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2015 5:10 AM by Joshua Milligan

multi-assign attributes with Tableau

Gabriel Nistor

Hi all,

I am new with Tableau.

I'm coming from Endeca (Oracle) world and I'm trying to adjust my brain to new ways of dealing with data.

Do I have any simple/native functionality to allow me to deal with multi-assign attributes in Tableau?

Thanks.

- Gabriel

• 1. Re: multi-assign attributes with Tableau
          Jason Wieth

Hello Gabriel,

I'm not familiar with multi-assign attributes, but from the information in your link I think the data prep features in Tableau Desktop would be able to handle it.

The two functions I have in mind are the Split function and the Pivot function. Both are accessible from the data connection screen:

Split

Pivot

The splitting would be needed if the attributes are imported as a single delimited field. The pivot will help to drop all of the like values into a single column. From the example data in the link, the resulting table would have two columns: Movie Title, and Actor. This will put the data in a format most easily used for visual analysis with Tableau Desktop.

• 2. Re: multi-assign attributes with Tableau
            Gabriel Nistor

Hi Jason,

Thanks for your reply. However, Split & Pivot are not doing exactly what I want.

I would have liked to be able to do some data discovery quickly (quick and dirty), meaning that avoiding having to go through complex data cleansing and transformations, while being able to understand the data would have been a great feature of Tableau. Or maybe this exists, but I'm just unaware of it  ...

Let's assume that I have some raw data like this.

CompanyNameIndustriesEmployees
            Company1Manufacturing, General Business, Telecommunication, Healthcare12342
            Company3High Tech, Healthcare86
            Company2Financial Services, Manufacturing,  Media Retail1000