1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2017 6:15 AM by Leanne Vermeulen

Customers that have NOT ordered a product?

Bryan Heenan

Hello everyone !!!

It's my first time here so please go easy on me.

I'm trying to work out which customers have NOT purchased a certain product. We could look at the Superstore dataset to imagine this scenario.

Here we have multiple orders, each of which contains one or more products.

If we look across all the orders we can see for instance that the 'Logitech 910-002974 M325 Wireless Mouse for Web Scrolling' is a popular product and appears on 15 orders.

What I essentially want to know is what customers who have placed orders have not ordered this product.

I'm sure there's an easy way to do this - but can't seem to work it out. For extra thanks and appreciation the next step would be to allow my user to dynamically select which product they want to include on the NOT ordered by customers master list. Also if they could select a date range which would list the customers who haven't ordered the product within a specific range.

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Customers that have NOT ordered a product?
          Ken Patton

Let's make sure we understand your specifications. Are you saying:

For any arbitrary Product in the data set, within a selected date range of Order Date  -- return a "list" of specific Customers that have ordered something but have not ordered the specific Product selected?

In other words, you want to exclude any customers that have ordered nothing whatsoever, and exclude customers that have ordered the selected product among other things?

Would that be correct ?

• 2. Re: Customers that have NOT ordered a product?
            Bryan Heenan

Thanks for the response.

You seem to have understood the requirement but the sample provided doesn't produce the expected results.