5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2015 9:46 AM by Joshua Milligan

How to identify duplicates

Melissa Joseph

Hello,

I am fairly new to Tableau and would appreciate any help on the below.

In the attached twbx file below, I am trying to identify any reports  that is a duplicate.

Typically if meetings have been held with the same Client Rep in a client organization, by two Account reps and both have submitted their reports, only one will be considered as the correct report. The other will be considered a duplicate. The report has to identify duplicates based on the Client Concatenate column. In the case below, if for Honda MaryDay, Jane Smith and John Tam have submitted reports (Y in the Report Submit column) then one is supposed to be correct and the other is a duplicate. So probably the first one that shows up in the report will be correct and the second one will be duplicate.

Secondly, if two Account reps meet with the same client and one submits the report but the other one does not, then it should not be flagged as late.

In the case of BMW AdamThomas, Tom Thomas submitted the report and Tom Jacob did not submit the report. However, Tom Jacob should not be flagged as Late. So the condition is if for Client Concatenate, if there is a Y for Report  Submit, Late should not show  in the “report late” column.

Pl remember all the fields below should be there in the view.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: How to identify duplicates
          Amir Shareghi

Hi Mellisa,

For your first question you can count the number of "Y" in each pane. If it is more than one then you have a duplication. If you have Tableau 9 your work is much easier by using "fixed" function.

For your second question you can use lookup function.

• 2. Re: How to identify duplicates
            Melissa Joseph
            I cannot use Tableau 9 as per our policy. Can you explain how to use Lookup
            • 3. Re: How to identify duplicates
              Joshua Milligan

Hi Melissa!