10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2015 7:11 AM by Toby Erkson

tabcmd --site  or -t

Mark ODonnell

I am finishing a script which requires tabcmd to use specific sites and I am a bit confused on what --site (-t) requires.

Is it the sites.id which is numerical (1,3,5,etc)?

Is it the sites.name which can contain spaces (my site)?

Is it the sites.url_namespace (my_site, or mysite)?

Is it something else?

The documentation is vague in what tabcmd is expecting when using --site (-t).

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: tabcmd --site  or -t
          Mark Fraser

Hi Mark

I'm a Server newbie myself...

As far as I know it relates to any additional 'sites' you create on Tableau Server.

The default on Server is to have a single default site, any additional sites you add yourself.

The -t simply says its not the default (if its default you don't need it) and then use the name you gave the site when you created it. It should also be in the URL of the link.

I assume you have seen these, but if not, they will help.

Sites

Work with Sites

Any questions/ problems please write back

Cheers

Mark

• 2. Re: tabcmd --site  or -t
            Mark Fraser

Additional...

Work with Sites

The URL used for Default does not specify a site.

For example, the URL for a view named Profits on a site named Sales is

http://localhost/#/site/sales/views/profits.

The URL for this same view on the Default site would be

http://localhost/#/views/profits.

tabcmd Global Options

• 3. Re: tabcmd --site  or -t
              Mark Fraser

forgot to mention...

if your site name has spaces, enclose them in quotes i.e. "my example site"

http://localhost/#/site/"my example site"/views/profits.

This applies to all filepaths, not just site.

• 4. Re: tabcmd --site  or -t
                Mark ODonnell

Thanks for your help Mark Fraser.   After some more trial and error I figured it out.  It as a bit confusing when site id in the DB is always a number, but the documentation refers to it as a name.