3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2015 6:24 AM by james.n

Set a quick filter using Tableau API

james.n

I have a dashboard containing several worksheets and quick filters.  I am new to Tableau and trying to learn more about controlling the visual using the JavaScript API.  One of my worksheets has a drop-down list of schools as a filter.  The code below filters the list to a single name. 

Untitled-1.png

It does not however, change the selection in the drop-down.  It reduces a longer list to the single name which includes the option "All".  My information will not show because the school hasn't actually been selected from the drop down.

function setSample1HS() {

workbook.activateSheetAsync("Attendance")

.then(function (sheet) {

dashboard = sheet;

worksheet = dashboard.getWorksheets().get("Attendance");

return worksheet.applyFilterAsync("School Name (Currently Attending)", "Sample1 HS", tableauSoftware.FilterUpdateType.REPLACE);

})

.then(function (sheet) {

alert("School filtered to Sample1 HS");

})

.otherwise(function (err) {

alert("The following error occurred:\n\n " + err);

});

}

Question: How can I make the filter also pick the filtered selection?  (This is a quick filter, not a data selection.)

• 1. Re: Set a quick filter using Tableau API

Hey James,

In asking a colleague they said:

The request is being put in a return call. Try putting it in a function instead (as shown in section 2 here: JavaScript API Tutorial). Also, make sure the quick filter is a single select dropdown filter.

I hope this helps!

Diego

• 2. Re: Set a quick filter using Tableau API
            Jeff D

Hi James, have you tried running with your browser's debugging tools enabled?  If you display the console window, it's likely there will be some clues as to why this isn't working.

• 3. Re: Set a quick filter using Tableau API
              james.n

Using a single select may work but isn't applicable to the need.