2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2015 9:29 PM by William Lee

Tableau Education, Certification and Job Placement Question

William Lee

I have good experience with databases such as SQL Server and MS Access and have done a great deal of development, data integration, analysis and reporting work so I feel like my transition into Tableau will be pretty smooth. I've been researching various Tableau training classes online and many of them offer to help me with job placement after I complete their course.

Does anyone have any experience going through training and job placement like this?  I honestly feel like I can do just as good a job going through my own self training with what's online and then try to shoot for either the Qualified Associate or even the Desktop Professional Certification a little bit later.

My main concern is trying to get job placement on my own without one of these training centers validating me.  Part of me thinks that a self taught training routine is going to make it a much tougher job search effort down the line. 

Does anyone have any thoughts or advice on this?

Thanks for your help and sounding in!

William

• 1. Re: Tableau Education, Certification and Job Placement Question
          Joshua Milligan

William,

These are good questions!

I don't personally have any experience with these specific online training centers, so I only have my opinion and experience.  I would think that with your background, you could pick up Tableau very well on your own.  Spend some time with the online training videos provided free by Tableau, find a data set and build a dashboard, deconstruct some Tableau Public vizzes to see how they were created and work through the analysis others have done (and possibly find flaws in their approaches).