1 2 3 Previous Next 93 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2017 4:20 PM by Ravi Sreeramineni

Sankey diagram made of dynamically generated polygons

Olivier CATHERIN

As I was working on building a Sankey Diagram with Tableau, I found the excellent articles of Jeffrey Shaffer from Data + Science developing a methodology to build a Sankey in Tableau. His two articles (first & second) were my starting points.

At this stage, I wanted to add some interactivity on my diagram and minimize the data preparation... I am no Excel expert. I just wanted to be able to build my Viz using the model provided by Jeff and a dataset with Step1, Step 2 and Step 3 & 1 indicator (size) and dates to perform filtering... and I didn't want to use SQL or macros...

I also have an ID field but I do not want to use it...

I finally succeeded using Jeff's method but faced an issue regarding the performance of the Viz: showing several thousand calculated lines + colors in the same Viz takes some resources... So, I wanted to simplify my Viz. Considering that I could easily get all the lines describing each flow on the Diagram, I should probably be able to define the Upper Line and the Lower Line of each flow. And if I could do that, I could probably link these lines in order to build... a polygon. I would then have far less lines to calculate and show on my screen. So here is the challenge...

Polygonic Sankey 3 Steps.png

This Viz is a dashboard made of 3 bar graphs to populate nodes and 2 sankey to show the flows.

I will just explain how I built the first part of the Sankey and let you deduce the following one.

Step 0: Read articles from Jeff

http://www.dataplusscience.com/SankeyinTableau82.html

Step 1: Preparing the model in Excel

Please first download the Excel model file from Data + Science

In the Excel sheet with the model data, we will double the whole rows and add 2 columns:

- A path column: order in which we will link the points