1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2016 2:29 PM by Matt Coles

Stale Content: How do you deal?

Matt Coles

How do you get rid of the kruft that always collects on Server? Old workbooks no one uses, test workbooks, datasources that have become obsolete, stuff left by past users who have moved on. I'm an Admin and I've got stuff that falls into this category, so I have to assume that it's a fairly universal problem, and that many folks have tried to solve it. Have you? What have you done, and how well did it work?

• 1. Re: Stale Content: How do you deal?

Matt,

Great question. Here is one flow that an admin at one of our customers is using. I would love to hear what other admins are doing as well. Some of this is done outside the product.

1. Get a list of all workbooks that haven't been viewed in X number of days (from postgres tables)

2. For each workbook, look up the owner and email them letting them know that their workbook is not being actively used and is being considered for deletion. 

3. The email embed a policy that clarifies to the user when the content will be deleted ( ex : in Y days your workbook will be deleted automatically, if you wish to keep the workbook please view it again or share it more widely)

4. After a week, the admins sent another reminder to the owner of stale workbooks.

5. After another week a final email goes to the owner of stale workbooks.

6. At the end of the policy period, after Z number of email reminders, the admins clean up the workbook.

There are risks and trade offs each admin would have to make in the work flow above that are specific to their business, but wanted to share the workflow for discussion.

3 of 3 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Stale Content: How do you deal?
            vikram bandarupalli

Matt,