1 2 Previous Next 26 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2014 12:19 PM by Shawn Wallwork

Calculating User Retention Rate

Ashley Flanagan

I’m working with a data set that tracks user sessions for an online service. For each session, there’s a column for Session Start Time (in the format MM/DD/YYYY 00:00:00 PM), another for Session End Time, and another for User ID.

I’m looking to answer the following question: for any given day the game was active, out of the users who logged in on that day, what percentage of them logged in again within the next two weeks?

I'm still fairly new at Tableau, so I'm not entirely sure how to even approach this - any suggestion that might point me in the right direction is welcome.

• 1. Re: Calculating User Retention Rate
          Joe Mako

How about something like the attached?

This is actually fairly complex, and I would be happy to go into detail on what enables this work over a screen sharing session, you are welcome to email me (found on my profile).

In brief, this uses nested table calculations, first to get the date of the next record with a LOOKUP to get a difference in days (partitioning on ID, addressing on Date), and second uses a WINDOW_SUM to aggregate a count of IDs that meet the day difference requirement, and divide by the number of IDs to get a percent (partitioning on Date, addressing on ID).

There are a number of other factors at play here, and I am happy to go in great detail over a screen sharing session.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Calculating User Retention Rate
            Ashley Flanagan

Thanks so much for replying, Joe. When I try to apply your solution to my data, though, the calculations are just returning a bunch of nulls.

I did find a completely alternate way to get what I need, but I'd still like to understand your solution and how it works better. Are there some tutorials I should watch (I haven't done much with table calcs before)?

• 3. Re: Calculating User Retention Rate