6 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2018 1:29 PM by Zach Leber

Model tickets open vs closed

Galen Dresser

I've got a data set that has ticket information detailing (among other things) when a ticket was open and when it was closed. I would like to create a graph that shows the number of tickets opened in a month as well as the number of tickets closed.  I am new to Tableau and have tried several approaches to this but I am not getting anywhere.  Any pointers?

Example data

Ticket #Date OpenedDate Closed
      12-143-14
      23-143-14
      34-146-14

Example graph

graphEx.PNG

• 1. Re: Model tickets open vs closed
          Zach Leber

This becomes easy if you use Custom SQL to reshape your data. There are many forum posts describing how to do this, here's my advice, we do this type of counting a lot.

1. connect to your ticket data source and switch to Custom SQL
          2. split each original ticket record into a start and end record using UNION ALL as depicted
          3. use a running sum table calculation to show the total count open at any time

Depending on the density of your data there may be date periods in which no tickets were opened or closed. You could pad your data but we prefer to use delta bars instead of lines that may be discontinuous. Attached workbook is from Tableau 8.1.

Capture.PNG

Capture 2.PNG

• 2. Re: Model tickets open vs closed
            Galen Dresser

This seems like the best course of action, marking as correct with the caveat that this method has changed for Tableau 8.2.

• 3. Re: Model tickets open vs closed
              Zach Leber

Thanks for pointing out that because the data connection process is different in 8.2, the way to get to Custom SQL is different than depicted and varies depending on data source type. But once you get to Custom SQL, the SQL to duplicate the records and the Tableau view building process remain the same.

• 4. Re: Model tickets open vs closed
                Kirstin Lyon