10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2014 3:20 AM by Ville Tyrväinen

Third data source and many to many result

Claire Douglas

I am new to Tableau, and am currently getting into tricky questions and not being able to fight my way out.  Right now I'm working with three data sources, and I seem to be hitting some many to many join issues.

The data sources, to be blended:

Visits (one record per visit, includes Date, Location, Health Care Provider ID, and Visit ID.)

Hours (one record per Health Care Provider, Date, and Location.  Includes Hours worked.)

RVU (essentially the complexity.  Currently one record per visit.  Includes Date, Location, Health Care Provider ID, and Visit ID.  Includes the total RVUs.)

The goal is to create visualizations that show Visits per Hour and RVUs per Hour on the same sheet.

I would like to blend all three of the data sources together, with Visits as the primary data source.  I am able to see both Visit and Hours on one sheet with Visits as the primary data source, and hours joined on Date, Health Care Provider ID, and Location.  I am able to see both Visits and RVUs on one sheet with Visits as the primary data source, and RVUs joined on Date, Health Care Provider ID, and Location.  However, when I try to add the third data source to one of the working sheets, it looks like I'm getting a many to many join.  Adding Hours to the Visit/RVU table keeps visits and hours accurate but increases RVUs about ten times.  Adding RVU to the Visits/Hours sheet also increases the RVU values by about ten times.  If I add in a join between Visits and RVUs on Visit ID, the visits and RVUs are accurate, but then Hours increases about ten times.

What am I missing here?  Are you only able to blend two data sources on one sheet? (I'm desperately hoping this isn't true.)

Thanks,

Claire

• 1. Re: Third data source and many to many result
          Noah Salvaterra