3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2014 5:07 AM by Tom W

Need help on project hand over documentation

Manish Patel

I am a business analyst with BI background – you can say BI Analyst (functional).

Recently my company bought over another firm. The new company has come with Tableau as a reporting tool. I am asked to take hand over from the incoming Tableau person. That person is actually SAP Business Objects Developer, was doing Tableau for some time and has decided to leave for better opportunities.

Here is where I need help, what should I keep in mind while taking “hand over” for tableau . I know person leaving is not going be friendly, so I have to be smart (or over-smart) to ask enough questions.

Can you please help me with areas or questions I should keep in mind?

I could think:

• What is technical environment
        • Tableau Server version
        • Tableau Desktop version, licenses
      • What is our reporting environment and for which departments
        • How many Dashboards (per department)
        • How many reports  (per department)
        • How many ad-hoc analysis reports  (per department)
      • What is mode of delivery of above items (dashboard / reports)
        • Do people log in to server
        • Do we send them regularly
      • What is mode of dashboard or report refresh
        • How many times in a week data gets refreshed
        • How do people get refreshed reports
          • § Are they connected to server
          • § Do they get refreshed report copy
      • What are our data sources?
      • Do you get excel or text file for dashboard development or do you connect with database directly?
      • Which databases you connect to get reports?
      • Do you get Excel mock up for dashboard requests?

I f you can use your experience and verify if I am on a right path?

Do I need to add more questions?