3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2014 11:31 AM by Bill Jindrich

Data Shaping for Survey Data

Bill Jindrich

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to Tableau. One of the areas that I'm exploring is the analysis of internal survey data. A couple of months ago, when I was first trying out Tableau, I had an XLS containing survey response data, with one row per user - it had many columns, which could be grouped into 2 categories: demographics and survey response data. I separated the data into what I thought made logical sense, 2 "tables" (Excel worksheets), with a User ID field that tied them together: a Demographics Table and a Survey Response Table.

Bringing these 2 tables into Tableau, I obviously had to create 2 separate data sources. Things seemed to work mostly ok as I built out some sheets and dashboards but I ran into some issues, which I don't recall the specifics of right now. I know that I had tracked down a few of the issues to the fact that each sheet seemed to have a "primary" data source, and there were some limitations or restrictions based on the primary data source that is chosen, with regards to non-primary data sources included on a sheet.

Flash forward to now, and I'm starting "fresh", although the survey data is similar. I want to ensure that I put the data in the very best shape in Tableau, so I'm hoping to get some input from the group here.

I am familiar with Tableau's Excel Data Shaper add-in, and I can see how it can help, however I'm wondering if there are any best practices for shaping & pulling XLS survey data into Tableau when you have a number of columns of demographic data and a number of columns of survey response data.