8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2017 1:46 PM by Ron Rodrigues

IntER-Question Analysis

kevin.robell

I was hoping to query this group for a possible solution as I am new to survey analysis and have been stuck on this issue. I have reshaped my data with Tableau add-in and it is set up similar to the fictitious data below. This is a sample of the range of data. The Answer column contains multiple different types of data (boolean, date, string, number).

As you see Q2 is a (Check all that apply). I am comfortable with visualizing the check all that apply responses, however, when I attempt to filter by those that answer Y to Q1, Tableau clears the table and replaces it with NULL. Basically, Tableau does not like it when I attempt to filter by both questions. Any suggestions?? I would like to show not only the breakdown of Q2 (injury management) but I am only interested in those that answer (Y) to Q1.

Subj #Quetion

Answer Y/N

1Q1. Have you had an ankle injury? Y

Q2. Was it managed with medication?Y
      1Q2. Was it managed with rehab?Y
      1Q2. Was it managed with surgery?N
      2Q1. Have you had an ankle injury?Y
      2Q2. Was it managed with medication?. Y
      2Q2. Was it managed with rehab?Y
      2Q2. Was it managed with surgery?Y
      3Q1. Have you had an ankle injury?Y

Q1. Was it managed with Medication?

N
      3Q2. Was it managed with rehab?Y
      3Q2. Was it managed with surgery?Y
      4Q1. Have you had an ankle injury?N
      4Q2. Was it managed with medication?N
      4Q2. Was it managed with rehab?N
      4Q2. Was it managed with surgery?N
        • 1. Re: IntER-Question Analysis
          Jonathan Drummey

Hi Kevin,

There are a variety of ways to go about this using custom views or queries in your data, Custom SQL, table calcs, or Conditional Filters, or Sets. I created a Set solution based on a Conditional Filter in the attached 8.1 workbook.