6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2014 8:05 AM by Toby Erkson

Tableau import data limitations 30 m

Sirish Bhatta

Hello,

I am new to Tableau. Have created some basic graphs and Chart using this tool in the past. We have 30 m rows that we are trying to create a tabular report ( Maseter child -- with 5-6 levels when you click on an id, it drill down further and further to the detail level).

I have tried importing all 30 m rows and i am getting out of temp or out of memory error.

If I try connecting live then, just to design drag and drop a dimension takes 15--20 seconds, may be because of the volume of data.  So for now i am only selecting a subset of data.  My questions are:

What is the best way to handle 30 m rows thats store in a SQL server database ( Live extract, work offline, any other)

Are there any limits on the number of rows or columns that can be displayed on the dasboard/sheeet. We have live 70 columns and it's overlapping at 16.

For now i have started creating a basic report ith master, child tabular report. But at some point  we need to we defualt the report display based on who is logged on ( securit and parameter) . Can this be done through Tableau.

I would appreaciate any suggestions or ideas. Thanks for your help 

• 1. Re: Tableau import data limitations 30 m
          Toby Erkson

Sounds like you're using Tableau to pull data to then dump into another application.  Bad juju.  A 70 column table report?  That's not a report, that's more like information mining/exploration.  Anyway...

Are you using the 32-bit or 64-bit version of Desktop?  How much RAM does you system have?  Open the Windows Task Manager and see how much of your memory is consumed before opening Desktop, then keep watching it as you run the "report".

• 2. Re: Tableau import data limitations 30 m
            Toby Erkson