6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 26, 2013 7:07 AM by Bladen Brannon

Multi-step filter action

Bladen Brannon

I am new to Tableau and I have just begun working with filter actions.

I had a simple question.  I have a filter action on a line graph that then filters a neighboring line graph on select.  The neighboring line graph has a filter action on a third line graph.

My question is can I carry the first filter action all the way to the third line graph?  Ideally I would Select one of my lines on the first line graph which then filters my second line graph.  When I pick a line on my second line graph it would then filter my third line graph based on the filter action on both the first line graph and the second line graph.

I hope that is not too confusing.  I appreciate any insight.  Thank you.

• 1. Re: Multi-step filter action
          Murali Govindu

Quick filters in Tableau can be applied either at various levels, if I understand your intent correctly, you must use one filter and further set it to Apply to this worksheets> All using this data source.  Here to use this filter selection your data source should be the same.

Further, you may upload a mock version of packaged workbook so that one can look at it instantly and may attempt to answer.

• 2. Re: Multi-step filter action
            cory.tak.0

Hi Bladen,

Yes you can filter multiple graphs with one action. You simply select the graph you want to filter the others under Source Sheets and then select the graphs you would like to filter on the Target Sheets portion. For the first graph, you would have 1 source sheet and the other two graphs selected. For the action on the second graph, it would become the source sheet and only the third sheet would be a target sheet. Hopefully the attached workbook is similar to what you're looking for.

actionDialogue.png