4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 24, 2013 1:23 PM by Tom Hier

data blending and joining -- basic help needed!

Tom Hier

I am a complete novice in the area of data blending and joining.  At this past year's Tableau Conference, the Tableau Docs came up with an ingenious solution for a viz that involved data blending and / or joining.  For a while it was sufficient just to use the workbook that they developed, but now I actually have to understand what they did.  Leaving aside the substantive aspects of the blending formulas they derived, I need some basic help in understanding how to navigate my worksheets to substitute a new dataset for an old one that is connected (or blended or joined?) to another.

I am clueless as to where to begin, but I believe that anyone who understands the basic mechanics of data blending / joining can probably help me understand what to look for.  I'd be greatly appreciative of any help that someone can provide.  I don't want to broadly post a packaged workbook because it includes client data, but I can share a packaged workbook with any one who might be able to help me.

I would be very appreciative of anyone with data blending / joining skills who could spend a few minutes helping me with the basics.

Thanks.

Tom Hier

• 1. Re: data blending and joining -- basic help needed!
          Phillip Burger

Hi, Tom. For many that are just learning Tableau, blending seems to cause a lot of problems. It shouldn't but I think the problem reflects the heterogeneous data environments that are common to complex organizations. I just watched this video. I have experience blending and this video is perfectly understandable and nails it:

Data Blending in Tableau | Tableau Software

Read on below, but first, if you merely want to want to replace data sources, I recommend this knowledge base article:

Replacing a Data Source | Tableau Software