0 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2013 9:56 AM by Raghav Panchapakesan

Tableau Setup for Trusted Authentication

Raghav Panchapakesan

Hi,

I am new to Tableau and we recently implemented Tableau at work with the idea of viewing tableau views within the Salesforce.com (SFDC) portal itself. I know that Trusted Authentication is the way to go because we have all our users accessing SFDC outside the firewall and our Tableau implementation resides internally within our company firewall.

I have a couple of questions with regard to the architecture to ensure we have trusted authentication working. We have a distributed environment where the gateway is on a separate box and rest of the necessary services (VizQL, Data and repository etc) are on separate boxes as well for availability.

SFDC (cloud hosted external n/w) -> McAfee N/W Gateway (DMZ) -> Apache (to be configured as reverse proxy - internal n/w) -> Tableau Web Gateway (internal n/w) -> Rest of Tableau boxes (internal n/w). Our corporate security policies do not allow us to have Apache on the DMZ configured as a reverse proxy so this is the only way requests are going to get through internally to Tableau. What i am being told is the  McAfee n/w gw will just forward the request to apache internally so once it receives the request, it will do the necessary processing to generate tickets for Trusted Authentication.

My questions are :

1) will this setup work for Tableau for Trusted Authentication? And i believe we can have only one authentication mechanism either Windows AD auto login (SSO setup for internal users) or trusted based authentication, correct?

2) i have a sample php code for trusted authentication but where should this code go within apache - on the landing page? i am new to web programming and kind of confused in this regard.