1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2015 2:17 PM by sumesh.kumar Branched to a new discussion.

Subscription Customers Retention Analysis Help

jonathan.pang

Hi,

I am fairly new to Tableau and have been trying to create a cohort (by month/year) analysis for subscription-based customers. I am having trouble displaying the correct data however...

The columns that I have imported into Tableau and am using for this are:

• Cohort Date: Date which the customer began purchasing services
      • Cohort End Date: Date which customer terminated services. Is null if still an active customer
      • Account ID: customer ID number (was planning on using this countd() as the marks. Countd() because each row is a product, customers have multiple rows in the dataset)

I followed the article on Cohort Analysis (Tips for Cohort Analysis | Tableau Software) and created several calculated fields:

Number of Months Active

datediff('month',[Cohort_Date],[Cohort_End_Date])

Cohort Month

DATETRUNC('month',[Cohort_Date])

I have put "Num of Months Active" in Columns and "Cohort Month" in Rows. When I show countd(Account ID) in Marks it shows the number of accounts that cancelled that month under the respective column header and zeroes if there were none. I am trying to Show number of active accounts across minus cancelled accounts. I'd like to have another table that shows the percent change from month to month (current month number of active accounts minus prior month number of active accounts)

Something that looks like this:

CohortMonth 1Month 2Month 3Month 4
      Jan 2013100908479
      Feb 2013200195175
      Mar 2013250200
      Apr 2013325

CohortMonth 1Month 2Month 3Month 4
      Jan 2013100%90%84%79%
      Feb 2013100%.......
      Mar 2013100%........
      Apr 2013100%.........

(with corresponding % in ...)