1 2 Previous Next 19 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2017 4:08 PM by greg.jones.8

Using stored procedures and temp tables

Richard Kellar

Hi there

I am fairly new to Tableau and just upgraded to v8.1, with the hope of being able to take advantage using stored procedures as a data source.  I am using MSSQL 2008 R2 (64-bit) and have a bunch of stored procedures that I use for authoring reports in Reporting Services.  After a few hours of trying to open various SP's as data sources, it seems that Tableau doesn't like that I reference #tmp tables in my sql.  I've tested this by creating two simple stored procedures that uses the same data sources, with one using #tmp tables and the other does not.  The one that didn't use #tmp tables connected while the other generated a "the stored procedure does not return a result set".

My question -- Is this a known issue?  I've had trouble finding any info on this in the forums or knowledge base.  If this is a limitation, does anyone have any workarounds? -- or do I need to create extracts instead?

Thanks in advance.

Rich

• 1. Re: Using stored procedures and temp tables
          Robert Morton

Hi Richard,

This is not yet a known issue, since we did not encounter it during development and testing of the feature. However it does sound like it has a similar root cause to other issues we have seen with SQL Server connectivity in Tableau 8.1 -- including stored procedure support -- due to our switch to the SQL Server ODBC driver (since Microsoft has ceased development of their OLE DB provider). The gist of the problem is that the ODBC driver forces us to use server-side cursors in most scenarios, and the Microsoft ODBC driver has known issues with supporting metadata queries and result set retrieval for certain cursor types when temporary tables are involved.