10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 28, 2013 10:23 AM by Krish Mukka

How can I save Tableau reports in Excel Sheets?.

Krish Mukka

Hi Tableau Army,

I am new to Tableau. I have prepared few reports in Tableau. I want them to be furnished in Excel application. Can anyone suggest me how can I do that?

Thanks in advance,

Regards,

Krish.

• 1. Re: How can I save Tableau reports in Excel Sheets?.
          caitlin.donaldson

There are a couple of ways to do this.  Both are in the Worksheet menu.  The first is copying the data to then be pasted into Excel.  Go to Worksheet -> Copy -> Crosstab.  Then go into Excel and paste the data.  The other way is to go to Worksheet -> Export -> Crosstab to Excel which will pull the data into Excel.  I almost always use Copy -> Crosstab since it provides data for each row, whereas Crosstab to Excel will merge cells to make the table look more like what you see in Tableau.

If you are looking to paste images in, the Worksheet and Dashboard menus both have options to copy an image which you can paste into Excel, depending on what you want to copy over.

Hope this helps!

• 2. Re: How can I save Tableau reports in Excel Sheets?.
            Krish Mukka

Hi Donaldson,

Thank you so much for your time n help. I will follow the steps suggested by you and get back to u..if more help needed on this..thnq again..

Regards,

Krish.

Sent from my Windows Phone

• 3. Re: How can I save Tableau reports in Excel Sheets?.
              Krish Mukka

Hi Donaldson,

I did what you asked me to do. However, excel sheet is getting only data not interactive features of the report. Even if I copy the information as images, I hope the interactive options won't work there. Is there any way that Excel report get the Tableau reports along with the exact features we apply there?.

Regards,

Krish.

• 4. Re: How can I save Tableau reports in Excel Sheets?.
                caitlin.donaldson

Hi Krish,