11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2014 10:27 AM by John Sobczak

Parameters in Custom SQL

Mak Date

I am using parameters in Custom SQL to make my query dynamic (to allow users to pull their own data).

A simple query on our Teradata warehouse like

"select * from transactions where customerid = <Parameters.id>" is taking forever, but it runs in under a minute using Teradata SQL Assistant (or if I hardcode the customerid)

A similar dynamic query using Tableau against Oracle did not return data even after an hour!! (and returns results under 5 minutes from a SQL client)

Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance!

Mak

• 1. Re: Parameters in Custom SQL
          Dana Withers

I've no experience with Teradata, but I believe that if you use custom SQL, Tableau cannot optimise the query.

Is there no way you can use a normal filter on an extract or something like that?

• 2. Re: Parameters in Custom SQL
            Mak Date

Hi Dana - Thanks for your reply.

Here's the Use Case I am trying to address

• We get a lot of requests for ad-hoc queries against our data (Teradata/Oracle/DB2 etc). The query criteria is usually a combination of Customer ID/Account/Effective Date etc
            • We use SQL clients (Teradata SQL assistant/Access) to extract the data. Most queries take 10 minutes at the most (since the criteria usually hit the indexes)
            • I was trying to check if we can move to a "Self Service" approach, by allowing the Users to enter their search criteria as a paramter (Example - Customer ID) and then asking them to export the "Underlying Data"
            • I think, because of the size of the data normal filters/extracts will not work because there are thousands of Customer Ids/Accounts etc (Please correct me if I am wrong)
            • I found it strange that the query runs fast when I have it as a static query(In a SQL client or even in Tableau) and runs VERY SLOW when I use it as a parameter.