6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 8, 2013 8:42 AM by Jim Wahl

Syncronizing 4 graphs

Mike Grove

I am wondering if what I need to do can be done out of the box with Tableau.

I need to display 4 graphs 1 below the other at the same size and x axis scale.

I then need to click a datapoint and have a line drawn through all 4 graphs at the same point. ( it can also be an independent line on each graph )

At this point there are only 4 graphs, that will grow in the future and the line will need to extend through all of them ( or display on each one if independent ).

I have attached a mock up of what they are looking for.

Also, changing the start/end dates should change all graphs.

Additionally, if I select a range on 1 graph, all graphs need to re-render using the same range.

I am brand new to Tableau, is this something that can be done out of the box w/o scripting or coding?

• 1. Re: Syncronizing 4 graphs
          . Indumon

Hi Mike, you can create something very close to that in Tableau using drop line and multiple measures on rows.

However I suggest you to use a dashboard instead of creating a noisy single sheet with multiple graphs.

You can control the dynamic rendering of graphs using Dashboard actions or quick filters.

Selected 1.PNG.png

Selected.PNG.png

• 2. Re: Syncronizing 4 graphs
            Mike Grove

Thanks,

That got me closer.

Is it possible to have multiple charts with 3 or more lines.

I got the first one to have 3 measures, but I need another one to have 3 as well.

When I try to move a measure into the axis area of the chart it just swaps out the measure.

Can I only have 1 chart with 3 or more measures?

• 3. Re: Syncronizing 4 graphs
              . Indumon

I think you can only have one chart with more than one measure, may be

someone else have another method.

On Tue, Oct 8, 2013 at 12:11 AM, Mike Grove <

• 4. Re: Syncronizing 4 graphs
                Jim Wahl

Hi Mike,