4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2013 9:26 AM by Pedro Machado

Calculation to total certain elements in a group

Stephen Jones

I have a data set showing the majors of college students enrolled in specific courses. I need to find the following:

total art history majors, by course

total visual arts majors excluding art history majors by course

total of all those not included in the above two totals

I am new to Tableau. Can anyone help me create a calculated field to do this? I've attached a packaged data file.

Thanks,

Stephen

• 1. Re: Calculation to total certain elements in a group
          Matt Lutton

There are a variety of ways you could approach this.  I attempted to set up the three requests in the attached.  In the first two, there are simple calculations to see if the major field "CONTAINS" or "NOT CONTAINS" the values you specified--these String Calcs are case and space sensitive, so you can use other functions like "UPPER", "LOWER", "TRIM", etc.  to ensure your criteria is what you need.  In the third, I wrote a similar calculation that returns the number of records excluding the other two criteria you specified.  Note that in the first two calcs, I used an IF statement and filtered out the NULL records that were returned for majors that did not match the criteria specified.

If this is not accurate, I may have misunderstood what you were looking for.  Again, there are other ways you might approach this, but since you asked specifically about writing calculations, that is the approach I took.  Someone else may have a better/more efficient way.

I work with K-12 school data, so if you're ever interested in discussing Visualizations/Tableau, feel free to email me at mluttonATgoodwilleducationDOTorg.

• 2. Re: Calculation to total certain elements in a group
            Stephen Jones

Matthew,

Many thanks for your help. It appears to me to be correct. I'll study it further and see what I can learn about writing calculations.