3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 28, 2013 4:47 AM by Giri Agarwal

Comparing percentage and yes/no values

Giri Agarwal

Hi All, a relative Tableau newbie here. Let me first appreciate the vibrant Tableau community, and appreciate your attention and assistance in advance.

My use case is that of benchmarking a set of respondents (Respondents 1 through 5 in the attached sample workbook) against certain benchmark scores (Benchmark 1 and Benchmark 2 in the attached workbook). Think of "respondents" as individual respondents and "benchmarks" as a segment of respondents from the overall survey they are being compared against.

I am doing this for a large survey of respondents and for now am having to work with aggregate data, using Tableau as the visualizing tool.

One of the scenarios I am struggling with is as follows: The value in the benchmark column is in percentage, i.e. X% of the benchmark set responded responded "Yes" to a certain survey question. Whereas the value stored in the "Respondent" row for the same question is 1 (indicating yes) or 0 (indicating no). I would like to be able to achieve any of the following:

1. Compare the 5 respondents against 1 benchmark (if possible, both benchmarks) on a worksheet, showing the benchmark value as a bar chart and plotting the respondents as colored circles, either on the bar or on a dual axis next to it
      2. Create a dashboard achieving the same (The dashboard in the attached workbook gets it this far), however being able to control the sort order for both charts through one column (This I am unable to do; i.e. be able to control all values being sorted appropriately via the "Answer Options" column)

Is it possible to do what bullet 1 outlines? i.e. compare aggregate benchmark values against yes/no responses of individual respondents on a worksheet?

Appreciate your assistance. Look forward to being part of the community.

• 1. Re: Comparing percentage and yes/no values
          Joshua Milligan

Giri,