1 2 Previous Next 25 Replies Latest reply on Aug 15, 2013 7:05 AM by Kevin I

Subqueries in Custom SQL Connections

Kevin I

I'm trying to do a SQL Subquery from a SQL Server in the Custom SQL connection in Tableau 8.  I am able to run my query in both AQT and Access SQL passthrough.  Is there something I can do to get it to work in the custom SQL in Tableau 8?  Below is the simplified shell of my query:

with TESTABLE as (

SELECT *

FROM XYZ

WHERE State = MA

Group by Customer)

select * from TESTABLE where _____

Any help is greatly appreciated!  I have been messing with this for far too long.

• 1. Re: Subqueries in Custom SQL Connections
          Toby Erkson

DISCLAIMER:  I'm not an SQL expert.

I mimicked your code in my AQT against a DB2 source and it failed when using the GROUP BY.  When I removed it the query ran fine.  Here's what worked for me:

with TESTABLE as (
          select *
          from CDW.PARTY_S1
          where party_type_desc='PERSON' )

Select * from TESTABLE where FIRST_NAME='BOB'

Just because it works in an outside query tool doesn't necessarily mean it will work in Tableau's Custom SQL writer.

You shouldn't need the GROUP BY clause; let Tableau group things as it sees fit.

Don't get fancy with your SQL.  Dumb it down.

• 2. Re: Subqueries in Custom SQL Connections
            Matt Lutton

Toby is correct.  No "group by" or "order by", etc. in Tableau's Custom SQL--you'll get an error every time, which can be confusing to experienced SQL users.

• 3. Re: Subqueries in Custom SQL Connections
              Kevin I

Hi All,

Thanks for your response.  I attempted to remove the “group by” and still received errors.  For more context, here is a more complete example of my SQL and error message.  Again, I really appreciate the help with this!

with TESTABLE as (

select field1,Field2,field3, field4,

max(case when field5  ='criteria1' then field6 else null end) as newfield1,