6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2013 7:34 AM by Matt Lutton

Question about Table Calc & Date Calculation

Matt Lutton

Hello all:

I had a use case for a Table calc this week and thought I'd post this.

I have been working on calculating an ACCURATE attendance rate, at the student level. I was able to get close by using total(countd([date])) which seems to return every possible date for a given time period (say 2012-13 school year).   Of course, I am pretty new to these concepts so I could be way off even at that.

However, I have two issues I'd like some advice on, if possible:

1) This calc is based on the idea that attendance is entered every school day.  For my case, that is probably true--but if anyone has a suggestion on how to deal with this issue (I'd like to know HOW, even if I can get by without it)

2) More importantly, attendance is sometimes entered in advance--so a future date can be included   Can I remove future dates using a Date calculation of some kind?  I'm sure that I can, but I don't have a lot of experience with date calcs.

I am beginning to understand the concepts, and really appreciate all the help I've received from experienced forum members thus far.  Thanks!

• 1. Re: Question about Table Calc & Date Calculation
          Jim Wahl

Hi Matt,

Tableau will fill in missing dates between a start and an end date, even if there are no values for those dates in the view. Something called domain padding. You can control this with the show / hide missing values option on the date pill (blue in this case for discrete dates). But I don't think it's going to affect a COUNTD calculation. Or that you'd want it to, since datediff could be used to provide this value.

Regarding your second question, you could add a date filter where Date <= TODAY().

Also, you might be interested in Jonathan Drumey's blog post, where he describes calculating fall rates over a given period. Seems like a similar problem to yours.