6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2013 9:55 AM by Matt Lutton

Calculating Full Day vs Half Day

Matt Lutton

I am pretty new to Tableau and am trying to learn as much as possible about calculations, in particular, as data is presented to me in a way that will require me to calculate often.

That being said, I've gotten a lot of great help from forum members already, and I really appreciate it.  I've been working with some sample attendance data, and am now trying to calculate a half day versus a full day absence.  I am attaching a packaged workbook.  My attempt at calculating a very simplified value for a half day or full day is shown in the calculation "Absence Value".  I end up with .5 regardless of the number of periods listed.  (I want to get a total day count of absences, based on these values).

I have tried a few formulas, but left it at what you see in the attached workbook.

Again, it is important that I am able to aggregate these values further (show a total # of absences by day count for a given time period).  I will also need to take into account whether the field "Absence" is marked as "Absent" or "Tardy" and am only concerned with instances where "AbsenceType" is marked as "Unexcused"

In another thread (http://community.tableau.com/message/213215), Dimitri Blyumin helped me reach a simplified Day Count of Unexcused Absences using the formula in the calculation "Unexcused Absent Count (fixed)". I am trying to add another layer into this problem and would like advice on how to approach it.  If I can nest this in one calculation for a Day Count of Unexcused Absences, that would be the ideal scenario.  If that isn't possible, I understand.

I hope my problem makes sense.  Again, I am very new to this. I do not post to get others to solve my problems, but rather, to learn from the best. If you can walk me through some logic, and the HOW and WHY things must be done a certain way, I would be forever in your debt.

• 1. Re: Calculating Full Day vs Half Day