6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2016 10:36 AM by Huy Nguyen

Refresh Data using Tableau Reader

Mithun Raj

Hi Tableau experts,

I am new to Tableau and would like to understand Data Refresh feature in Tableau Reader:

My client does not want to buy the professional license and wants to use Tableau Reader to access the dashboard. Also, he'd like to update data automatically from the Tableau server. I understand that Tableau Desktop/Server is built for this purpose. But I'd like to find out if there is any workaround where I don't email him packaged workbook, but he still gets to access the latest, data-refreshed dashboard on Tableau Reader. If not, I had like to validate this is not possible using Tableau Reader

Regards,

MSR

• 1. Refresh Data using Tableau Reader
          Shawn Wallwork

If you're really looking for someone to tell you (your client) that Reader can't refresh a dashboard, then I'll say it, no you can't do this.

--Shawn

PS: See next post.

• 2. Refresh Data using Tableau Reader
            Shawn Wallwork

But if you're really looking for a workaround then you should know that packaged workbooks are really just ZIP files that can be opened and the Excel file (if that's your data source) can be replaced. So theoretically he could 'refresh' data in a workbook using a ZIP utility. But the data couldn't be an extract, since those have to be generated by Tableau Desktop.

Cheers,

Shawn

2 of 2 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Refresh Data using Tableau Reader
              Kevin Denman

Hi Shawn,

I have a need for this as well. Several team members are using a combination of Tableau / Excel to do scenario analysis. To view the viz they need a data refresh.

What is the ZIP utility and how would it be used to enable a data refresh of a packaged workbook?

Cheers,

Kevin

• 4. Re: Refresh Data using Tableau Reader
                Andy Harris

Hi Kevin,