2 Replies Latest reply on May 29, 2013 3:43 AM by marketa.bilska

Stacked chart with custom images

marketa.bilska

Hello,

I got great responses here last time, so I'm trying it again.

I'm a Tableau beginner and working on some infographics now. I have an image of how I would like it to look (found it online with no instructions, unfortunately) but can't figure out how to get it (although I'm working very slowly toward it). I attached the design inspiration, workbook and the custom shapes (already in my Tableau repository).

I would greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks so much in advance,

Marketa

• 1. Re: Stacked chart with custom images
          Joshua Milligan

Marketa,

Looks like you were most of the way there!  Here is what I did to finish it:

1. Create a subdirectory for your image fileds and add Custom Shape image files to the My Tableau Repository\Shapes\ directory.  They will now be available to assign as shapes.

2. Create a calculated field for each measure to make one gender a negative value (so I can center on zero).  Use these fields instead of the original fields.

3. Create a dual axis using Measure Values (made sure to synchronize the axis), then set one as a bar and one as a shape and used the custom shapes.

4. Changed the formatting of the [Measure Values] on the pane to custom and used %0.00;%0.00 so positive or negative would show without a sign.

There might be a few minor things I left out of the list above.  If you have any questions, I'd be happy to answer them!

Regards,

Joshua

Custom Gender.png

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Stacked chart with custom images
            marketa.bilska

Hi Joshua,

Thanks so much for your answer.